Thanks to overwhelming response, the Making history distinguished alumni gala is now sold out.


UNO Making History: A Celebration of University Leadership

2016 Distinguished Alumni Gala

Thursday, November 3, 2016 | 7:00 pm-10:00 pm

The National World War II Museum: The Freedom Pavilion, Boeing Center

Don your cocktail attire and join us in celebrating the University of New Orleans' impact and leadership on our community as we honor 2016 Homer L. Hitt Distinguished Alumnus Mark C. Romig and UNO's 7th leader, President John W. Nicklow. Enjoy delicious food, live music, open bar and our singular silent auction while socializing with old and new friends in this extraordinary WWII Museum venue which exists thanks to the idea and energy of two UNO faculty members and is just one example of how UNO continues its proud tradition of Making History in Greater New Orleans. 


Please find below some helpful Gala Information.

  • When do we start Making History? The Gala is from 7:00 pm – 10 pm, Thursday, November 3rd. 
  • Parking There is a parking garage conveniently located across the street from The National World War II Museum at 1024 Magazine Street. Parking is $10 for 3 hours. Street parking may also be available.
  • Ticketless Entry Attendees will simply check-in by last name or Sponsor name when they arrive.
  • Upon Arrival Check-in and enter the Gala at 1043 Magazine Street in the old firehouse building (on the uptown side of The American Sector restaurant)
  • Smile! After you check-in, be sure to stop to have your photo taken as you enter the Museum!
  • Food & Drink Sample delicious passed hors d’oeuvres, food from multiple stations and an open premium bar.
  • Format To encourage socializing, movement  networking? and fun, the Gala is a cocktail-style reception, not a staid, seated dinner.
  • Tables & Seating Sponsor tables will be designated with signage and volunteers will assist in directing sponsors to their tables. A limited number of non-reserved tables and highboys will also be available for use. 
  • Cue the Music  Enjoy live jazz by our own UNO Jazz Studies combo of alumni and current students, as well as musical favorites performed by the WWII Museum’s own Victory Belles.  
  • What to wear?  Cocktail attire.
  • The Presentation  There will be a brief presentation at 8:15 pm celebrating our outstanding honorees.

Making History Auction 

Use your mobile phone to text your bids in early and often on our silent online auction of UNO-themed, one-of-a-kind items. Bidding closes at 9:45 pm. >But don’t wait until the Gala to start bidding! You can bid online now at:!

Spread the word!

Share our Facebook page with friends at

On behalf of the University and the University of New Orleans International Alumni Association, we look forward to Making History with you next week!

Help UNO Keep Making History.

Be a Sponsor

Past UNO Homer L. Hitt Distinguished Alumni

2015 Roy A. Glapion, P.E. (BS Civil Engineering '87)
2014 Newell D. Normand (BS Business Administration '88)
2013 Robert A. "Bobby" Savoie  (Ph.D. Engineering & Applied Science '09)
2012 Jay C. Zainey, Jr. (BS Accounting '73)
2011 Peggy Scott (BA Political Science '75) & Errol Laborde (MA Political Science '71, Ph.D. Political Science '83)
2010 Joel T. Chaisson, II (BS Business Administration '80) & James "Jim" Tucker (BS Finance 86)
2009 Kim L. Bondy (BA Drama & Communications '88, MBA '09)
2008 James B. “Jim” Letten (BA Drama & Communications '76)
2007 Gregory C. Rigamer (MS Urban Studies '74)
2006 Walter J. Boasso (BS Management '83)
2005 Allan B. Colley (BA Philosophy '71)
2004 Edward “Rocky” W. Kolb (BS Physics '73)
2003 Clarence J. "Clancy" DuBos, III (BA History '76)
2002 Bartholomew F. Palmisano, Sr. (MS Accounting '86)
2001 Dr. D. James Miller (MS Chemistry '65)
2000 Gary N. Solomon (BA Business Administration '71)
1999 Donald J. Landry (BS Management '71)
1998 Gary B. Froeba (BS Management '71)
1997 Thomas M. Kitchen (BS Accounting '69, MBA '71)
1996 Jim Clark (BS Physics '70, MS Physics '71)
1995 Michael A. Flick (BS Finance '70)
1994 Mario Villa (BA Anthropology '77)
1993 Joseph P. Raspanti (BS General Science '79)
1992 Melinda B. Schwegmann (BA Elementary Education '69)
1991 Michael J. Kettenring (BA Government '66)
1990 Harold J. Heno, Jr. (BA History '74)
1989 David R. Sherman (BA Business Administration '74)
1988 Susan O. Hess (BA English '67)
1987 Timothy P. Ryan (BA Economics '71)
1986 James J. Donelon (BA Political Science '67)